Although the first period was played very disciplined by the Vito’s the period’s action began before the puck even dropped as Cornwall’s Dylan McGuigan #19 received an Unsportsmanlike Conduct penalty. The game was played very fast albeit very light on the shots on goal with 4 a piece and none successful.

It did not take much however in the second period for the Vito’s Matt Bursey to land the only goal of the second period at 0:36. The true hero of the period was Vito’s goaltender Matthew Murphy who covered 8 amazing saves, many from point-blank range.

Through out the third period, the Vito’s had a difficult time staying out of the penaly box resulting in the final goal at the end of the period to break the shout-out by Cornwall’s Darcy Ashley at 19:53. the Vito’s had just taken a 2-0 lead prior to that goal by #22 Aidan Kelly at 18:32, which unfortunately resulted in Matt Bursey heading to the dressing room with an injury after providing an assist to the Kelly goal.  The saving graces for the Vito’s in this game seemed to be Matthew Murphy at goal after an inspirational turnaround based on his tough playoff series against the Moncton Flyers. The shots on goal for the game were 20-13 favouring Cornwall.

Great hockey action continues here at the Lord Beaverbrook Rink in Saint John later today at 5pm with Cole Harbour and St. John’s (HNL). Returning after two hard-fought victories today, this evening’s game will be the “Battle of New Brunswick” with Moncton Flyers (HNB) taking on the hometown Saint John Vito’s (Host) at 8 pm. The game will be broadcast live on Rogers TV and Saturday @ 6 pm on 96.1 NewSong FM.

Home Team: Cornwall Thunder (HPEI)

Away Team: Saint John Vito’s (Host)

Start Time: 1:30pm

Arena: Lord Beaverbrook Rink

Referee: TBD

Linesmen: TBD


HPEI 0 0 1 0 0 1
Host01 1 0 0 2

Shots on Goal

HPEI48 8 0 0 20
Host44 5 0 0 13


First Period

No Goals

Second Period

0:36 Host- Matt Bursey #20 – Unassisted

Third Period

18:32 Host- Aidan Kelly #22 Assist- Matt Bursey #20

19:53 HPEI- Darcy Ashley #7 Assist- Jordan Costello #11 PPG


First Period

0:00 HPEI- Dylan McGuigan #19 – Unsportsmanlike Conduct (2:00)

8:51 HPEI- Matt Myers #22 – Tripping (2:00)

14:50 HPEI- Isaack MacDonald #8 – Tripping (2:00)

Second Period

9:09 Host- Jordan Bruce #18 – Hooking (2:00)

Third Period

0:20 MacKenzie Kierstead #2 – Interference (2:00)

4:04 Cody Kennedy #11 – Hooking (2:00)

8:46 Robert Green #25 – Slashing (2:00)

Team MVP Awards

Home: Brent Andrews #9

Away: Matthew Murphy #30


Leave a Reply